1. Home
  2. Creative Writing NZ Short Story Prize 2024 Results

Competition Information

We are delighted to announce the results of the Creative Writing NZ Short Story Prize 2024!

The competition has been a huge success and we would like to thank everyone who entered – it certainly was not easy to choose from such a wonderful selection of short stories. The winner and two runners-up were chosen by final judge Lucie Brownlee, from a shortlist of 10 entries.



Matthew Hurt with ‘Hellfire’.



K. Jane May with ‘Cupid’s Remains’.



C.H. Edward with ‘Delilah’.



Tiffany Wagstaff – The Last Run

Sam Szanto – A Piedi Nudi

Graham McDonald – Milky’s Treasure

Kristine Johanson – Passengers

Eartha Davis – eun beinne cómhla

Rod Cookson – The Doughnut of Destiny – a Chrono-shifted Mystery

Katy Knighton – Spotlight



Brandon Keaton – Lost Girl

Cathy Cade – Gas Lighting

Kade Coates – The Last Man on Earth

Brindley Hallam Dennis – Prix Fixe

Scott Winkler – A Couple’s Guide to Racketball and Yoga

Scott Winkler – Winter Squall

Pamela Gough – Just Like My Nan

Glyn Matthews – The Pumpkin that predicted the End of the World

Sean Crawley – Eternal Life

David McVey – Census

Meghan Garrett – What is a Life?

Charlotte Jones – A bright red telephone Box

Martin Jacobs – A Mother’s Worst Nightmare

Martin Jacobs – Regifted

Anders Ross – Eyeglasses for Mr Spong

Jay McKenzie – Camellia

Alfares Al Jabir – Peter Pan doesn’t fly in Baghdad

Marian Matta – Intersection

Wayne Steele – Peanut Butter Murders

Jaime Gill – Things To Talk To Jim About

Christina Esser – Betrayal

CJ Garrow – Quarry


Thank you once again to everyone who entered the Creative Writing NZ Short Story Prize 2024!